My take on the base model of the latest MacBook pro 14 in 2022

Tarun Chawla
2 min readApr 10, 2022
My new MacBook pro 14 base model.

Target audience:

  1. People who are looking to buy a MacBook pro that is portable, powerful and efficient and has budget constraints.
  2. People who have already set their eye on the Macbook pro 14 base model and are just looking for an external reasonable voice.
  3. Budget under $2000/INR 1.7 lakhs.
  4. You are a Software Developer.

Why not buy Macbook Pro 13?

  1. If you need 16 Gb ram then you need to customize it and it will cost you $1499. Even then you will get only 256GB SSD. Further, if you upgrade SSD to 512 GB it will cost you $1699.
  2. MacBook Pro 14 base model has 16 GB ram, 512 GB SSD, upgraded chassis with better and more ports and heat management, better processor, upgraded display, FHD webcam etc. It will cost you $1999.
  3. SSD speed of Macbook Pro 14 is 3X that of the 13-inch version.
  4. MacBook Pro 14 Ram speed, Display, speakers and ports are superior in every sense when compared to Macbook Pro 13.
  5. Just for $200, you are getting a much much better deal if you go for Macbook pro 14.

My Observations:

  1. Awesome battery life of around 15 hours.
  2. No fan noise. Actually, I have not heard a fan spinning for a single time even while running two simulators (one android and one iOS), Android Studio, Xcode and other applications in parallel.
  3. It's portable (it's big deal). Now I can switch between working with an external monitor and directly on the laptop with ease.
  4. Awesome speakers.
  5. I can keep it on my lap the whole day without worrying about my fertility.
  6. It feels like a major upgrade from the intel i7 MacBook pro 16 version (my office laptop). Office laptop spins like crazy when connected to an external monitor but my new laptop is super silent.
  7. The MagSafe charger is awesome.

--

--